Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How long can powder last if stored properly?

aggunner

I was given a butt load of older HP38, red dot, bulls eye, and unique. I went through and looked at samples of each and there was no oxidation and they didn't smell of amonia. The powder has been stored in a cool and relatively dry area. How long should this powder last?

Also anyone using these powders for 9mm these days?

Edited by aggunner

15-20 years in not an issue if stored dry and at stable temp

+1

When I started shooting there was an old guy at work that claimed to have been a reloader "back in the day". He brought me an unopened cardboard "keg" of 540 that, at the time, he claimed it was about 10 years old. It smelled slightly sweet and I purchased it from him at a bargain. 15 years later I was looking for some powder to make some warm 9's and found the container of 540. It has lost most of the sweet smell but does not smell bitter or acidic. I loaded it up and it worked pefectly, just as it had years earlier. This powder is likey 25 years old and is still fine.

To give an idea of "perfect conditions".... Alliant apparently still has a small supply of Red Dot I think from the late 1800's that every once in a while they supposedly take out of storage to do a test to compare the old and the new. With proper storage, I dare say it may outlast you.

When my grandfather passed away, I nosed around his reloading stuff some. He hadn't loaded for at least 30-ish years, so everything he had was old. He had partial containers of several powders, including a half used 25# keg of Red Dot (and a full one... the man liked Red Dot for 12 gauge, apparently). The only container that had gone over was a non-factory container that had Bullseye in it - and was maybe 1/8 full (so, lots of air volume). When powder goes over, it gets a strong odor as others have said...