Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Who Has The Onus?

XRe

The stage designer presents the problem, the shooter solves the problem.

A good problem has more than one solution.

Too many times, we as stage designers, are just trying to put together good stages for a local match, we don't take the time to critique our own work. That's when we usually get beat up by the shooters in walk-thru, which we deserve.

As a shooter, if I see a solution which the designer didn't want to allow, but made no provisions in the descrip or layout, I label it a poor stage and move on. As a designer, I learn from their mistake.

Part 1 is covered by the rulebook - FREESTYLE. The designer can control the way the stage is shot just by his/her stage design, and placement of barriers and fault lines.

Part 2 is part of the stage design.

Part 3 is self explanitory.

# 1. Yeah, it's a little confusing, but I put the onus on the designer. It's their stage and if they have an intended way to engage a stage they can control how a shooter will go through it.

# 2. It's on the designer, but as stated in the other thread, I'll ask the question if the WSB isn't clear.

I went with Sometimes on # 3. Only because at the club level, especially if it's a new stage designer I'll get with them before the match and get their intent and then work them on correcting/improving to meet that intent but also still allow for other solutions.

Edited by uscbigdawg

#1: IMHO there's no such thing as "how a stage is to be shot" in IPSC. The stage designer foresees one or multiple ways his stage will be shot, and throws in barricades and obstacles to force the shooters shoot it that way. Mostly, the stage designer should start designing a stage by determining which shooting skills he wants to test, then he should design the stage accordingly.

Once the start signal beeps, the competitor is entitled to solve the shooting challenge in his own way (according to the rulebook).