Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ssp Better Than Esp For Beginner?

dlcrouch

not 100% familiar with which class the M&P can compete in but if it allows you to play in either ssp or esp that would be the better choice for the economy minded shooter. both classes are at 125 power factor and start you off with a max round count of 10+1. small mods to your gun here and there will determine which class you end up in (weight, grip texturing, magwell, etc, etc) if i wanted to stick with one gun, all for the sake of familiarity, i would go with a box stock Glock 21. its good for SSP,ESP and CDP (since its a 45) :P .

Don't worry about finding the small pond or easy division and then a gun. Find a gun you like, and shoot it.

If I were starting out I would do just what I did before; go out with what I had (a Sig 226) and the rig I had (duty rig from academy) and just have fun while I learned.

Later I graduated to a Dillon "LTD" holster, then a 1911 and finally to IPSC Limited class and high caps.

You'll hear it said here ad nauseum; it's the indian not the arrow.

I think the M&P is a fine gun and would have no problem shooting it in IDPA, or USPSA Production. Get one, enjoy it, wear that sucker out.

I would agree that you should find an IDPA legal gun that you like best and shoot whatever division it is legal in. I personally like the M&P and the XD, but I don't own either one. If I had to pick between the two, I personally would select the M&P because Springfield, to my knowledge, will still not sell XD parts. If the XD breaks and it is not a simple fix, you have to ship it back for repairs.

You can use an SSP gun to shoot ESP when you want to, so you can get classified in two divisions with one gun (although you'll need to shoot the classifier match twice).

SSP classification times are easier than ESP. Good for grandbaggers, bad for sandbaggers :P