Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

This Rule Makes No Sense To Me!

CSEMARTIN

I looked through the rule book tonight and noticed that ESP guns can weigh 43 ounces, yet a CDP gun can only weigh 41 ounces including an empty magazine.

Can anyone explain this rule to me?

With a guide rod and magazine well, my CDP gun is just over the limit. I'm not trying to bash IDPA. I would just like to know the logic behind this rule. Thanks!

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I looked through the rule book tonight and noticed that ESP guns can weigh 43 ounces, yet a CDP gun can only weigh 41 ounces including an empty magazine.

Can anyone explain this rule to me?

With a guide rod and magazine well, my CDP gun is just over the limit. I'm not trying to bash IDPA. I would just like to know the logic behind this rule. Thanks!

I'm no expert but 99% of standard single stack 1911's will have no problem making the weight limit even with FLGR and magwells. 9mm and .40 S&W 1911's might get the 2oz "break" because of the heavier barrels due to the smaller bores. Just a guess.

9mm and .40 S&W 1911's might get the 2oz "break" because of the heavier barrels due to the smaller bores. Just a guess.

That's the how it was explained to me, the logic of the additional weight allowed is because of the heavier barrels in 9/40. FWIW my esp gun rolls in at 39.6 oz (postal scale).

Can I give the additional 2.4 oz to someone else in case they are over weight?

If so CSEMARTIN You are welcome to the 2.4 oz from me. If you don't need it all please pass it along to anyone else who needs it.

Shouldn't be a pick of anything. If you carry it, it should be legal! I got my Arizona CCW with a STI Edge and will probably do the same with my North Carolina permit (either that or a tricked out Glock 22).

I can understand not wanting an equipment race, but damn. How about just some basic design criteria and move on?

Rich