Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon 650 Vs. 1050?

Here is the deal... First off I've read Brians topic "Which Dillon should I buy" and I did a search for this topic but didn't find what I was looking for. I've been loading for a few years now on a 650 and it's great. Well, now I'm shooting a lot more than I was before AND will be shooting open so I'll need to switch calibers frequently. (.38 super and .40 S&W) I know chancing from these calibers will only take a couple of minutes but I'm really thinking of buying a 1050.

So here are my questions. For those of you that have both the 650 and 1050 or for those who have upgraded from a 650 to a 1050 exactly how much better is the 1050 over the 650? What are your opinions on both machines. My 650 has been really good to me. I've had a few issues with it but nothing major. I've loaded tens of thousands rounds on my 650 so I do have experience with loading. Will it be worth spending $1700 for this setup with a bench or should I just stick with what I've got? Is the 1050 money well spent?

Any advice is GREATLY appreciated.

Pete....

Order a 1050 in the caliber you shoot most. If you're planning on shooting equal amounts of Super and .40, order two and save the 650 for rifle calibers. I use the 1050 to load 9mm production loads, the 650 for .38 special and .45ACP. I still maintain an emergency toolhead for 9mm for the 650, since I like to load on match mornings......

My setup for a long time was a RL1050 for .38 Super and a XL650 for .40/.223. Then I got my Brazos Limited Pistol and started shooting a LOT more rifle. So, I bought a second 1050 after selling the XL650. He's set up for .40. I did this thinking that I might some day switch from .38 Super to SC and then all I have to do is change the toolhead.

Well, I'm lazy and can usually find an excuse to buy anything. So, got another XL650 and he sits next to the two RL1050's. He loads .223, 9mm and the occasional run of .45 ACP.