Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Steel Challenge 9mm Open Load

AustinMike

Did a bunch of searching, but I'm just not seeing much. Could be not enough caffeine and I'm not asking the search engine correctly. Anyway, I recently started shooting a shorty 9mm open gun. I'm using HS-6 and Zero 125JHP for major. I'm looking for a good minor load now for steel challenge type matches. Most of what I'm finding is production loads and I'm curious about what folks use in open to work the comp as much as possible. I thought about using the lighter 115gr. bullet for starters and backing down the major load a couple tweaks. Any other suggestions for lightening up so as not to bludgeon club steel so much?

I'm looking for loads tested in open guns only, please! I already found lots of production data in my searches this morning! ;)

BTW, 115gr. WWB runs fine in the gun as long as I put a 7lb. spring in. That's my current steel ammo. The brass tumbles down near my feet, but doesn't jam up. The problem is that it burns filthy and leaves a ton of residue on my C-more glass. I have to wipe it off after every stage with WWB, whereas my major load goes the whole match and stays clean as a whistle. I've got two blow holes in the barrel and a blast shield.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Mike,

I'm currently shooting a 115 PF load in my 9x19 STInger which is 115 MG JHP over 5.0 gr of VV N330. I like it a lot and it seems to work the comp as well as anything else I've tried.

My other pet steel load is 6.6 gr IMR 4756 under the same 115 MG JHP.

Good luck,

-Chet

BTW, 115gr. WWB runs fine in the gun as long as I put a 7lb. spring in. That's my current steel ammo.