Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Prodigy ~ which parts to replace first then second?

Petrofra

Already ordered a Brazos ignition kit and Atlas trigger, toolless guide rod and mags. I'm coming from Dan Wesson 1911s, Atlas Titan, Hyperion and a Dan Bedell-built 2011 so I have higher expectations I guess? But I am a lousy amateur gunsmith, figure the Prodigy is a better platform to finally figure out how everything works than an expensive gun I would likely mess up. 

Wondering which slide stop, high angle RH safety, disconnector, firing pin, extractor and ejector are most recommended and easiest to install? 

What else am I missing? 

Would love to put a stainless/extra aggressive Cheely grip on but can't find one in stock. Wondering if I blend a safety for the plastic grips if there will be enough left to blend with Cheelys or should I just wait? 

I know the philosophy of not upgrading until necessary but I rather build it out properly once and for all. Nice to have a spare parts and learn how to do things right. Thanks

Edited by Petrofra

I drop Dawson extended firing pins in all my 1911s and have had to replace one in half a million rounds total, so I only ever have one or two spares around.

For a Prodigy I put in a Dawson toolless guide rod, change the recoil spring, replace the safeties (I'm a lefty and like extended ones with knuckle clearance on the right), add a dot plate and dot and a Dawson Ice magwell converted to fit Prodigy grips.   Trigger and magwell are the two biggies in my book.

If the trigger on the stock parts can't be made decent enough, those get changed out when the safeties go in.

I'm in a rare disagreement with Shred.  I hate Dawson toolless guide rods.  Had two fail in matches.  Hate the reverse plug that Dawson supplies.  Had one separate in a match.  Hate Dawson extended firing pins.  Toooo long.  Like the Cheely extended much better.  Just the right length.