Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dry Firing with Red Dot

KenP11A

Hello all, I have a slightly embarrassing question that I cannot figure out. I have been doing local PPC (Police Pistol Combat) competitions with iron sights, so I can use the same pistol for all divisions. Next year, I plan on using a red dot in the open class. I have a consistent daily fire routine and have dry fired over 25,000 times this year according to my Mantis app. Here is my concern: Currently, when I dry fire, I am concentrating on my sight alignment (since I'm practicing/shooting iron sights). Therefore, I can easily tell if a trigger press was bad and/or if the sight alignment was disturbed during the pull.

Now I know that when I shoot with a red dot sight, my focus needs to be solely on the target. I have a pistol with a RDS, but wonder how I'm supposed to tell if that trigger pull was 'bad' if I'm only concentrating on the target? When I dry fire with it, the dot doesn't seem to move, but I know I didn't all of a sudden start executing flawless trigger pulls. Perhaps if my dot was smaller it would help, but even then I would have to slightly divert my attention from the target to track if the dot moves? (I should note that when I dry fire with my red dot pistol, the dot is 6.5 MOA and I also cover the front of the sight to help me better focus on the target*)

Apologies if this is a silly question. The PPC game is about extreme accuracy at long distances, so my trigger press is of utmost concern imo. I'm still just expert class so I've got a lot to learn. I'm unsure of another forum with so many phenomenal shooters so I'm just hoping someone out there can shed some light. 

*I listened to a Ben Stoeger interview where he says he covers his red dot and just leaves it covered at all times. I noticed when I have my dot covered my zero changes compared to uncovered/both eyes? I suppose he just has his pistol zeroed to be shot in such a fashion?

2 minutes ago, KenP11A said: