Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clean shot and 135s

Bakerjd

So my tinkering with anything I can hobby got the better of me the other day. Ended up getting 5lbs of shooters world clean shot to mess around with. Everything I read/skimmed through sounded good about it in 9 minor. So anyone have any load data with 135gn coated bullets? My usual OAL is 1.19. 

135 grain coated Ibejiheads with 3.55 grains of Clean Shot @ OAL of 1.20 chronoed at 9 degrees F gave me average velocity of 971 pfs with a spread of 15 fps.  Power Factor 131.   I've been using Clean Shot for a few years now and its all I use for 9mm in both CO and PCC.

• 3 months later...
46 minutes ago, Bakerjd said:

Well I'm almost out of ramshot comp so I'll be changing here soon. How clean is clean shot? And how well does it meter through a dillon powder funnel? How much smoke?

Cleanshot is fantastic. It’s one of the best metering powders out there. Average smoke in my experience. 

It’s a bit reverse temp sensitive… so if you developed your load in the heat… you’ll get a few extra FPS in the winter. 

It’s my go-to powder for carry optics and PCC. 

7 minutes ago, Bakerjd said:

@Dirty_J thanks for the info! 

All the Cleanshot folks try to say it’s the coated lead bullets coatings softening… but I don’t get the same FPS drop in the summer running Alliant Sport Pistol with the same bullets. 

Not a deal breaker… just something to be aware of if you’re shooting a sport with power factor minimums. 

8 minutes ago, Dirty_J said:

All the Cleanshot folks try to say it’s the coated lead bullets coatings softening… but I don’t get the same FPS drop in the summer running Alliant Sport Pistol with the same bullets. 

Not a deal breaker… just something to be aware of if you’re shooting a sport with power factor minimums.