Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trap shooting: Benelli Super Vinci vs Browning Citori CXT

JGus

I've pheasant hunted for years, but have never really shot trap. About a week ago i shot trap with some buddies. Brought my trusted Benelli Super Vinci that i use to pheasant hunt. In pheasant hunting in the Dakota's, i shoot very well.  But when trying to shoot clays, i missed enough that it was embarrassing. About a 70%-75% sucess rate. My buddy let me use his Browning Citori CXT, and it was like night and day. I was crushing almost all the clays, about 90% success rate. I felt like i almost couldn't miss.

I'm no expert in shotgun knowledge, so can someone who is explain why there would be such a difference in hitting clays?

6 hours ago, JGus said:

I've pheasant hunted for years, but have never really shot trap. About a week ago i shot trap with some buddies. Brought my trusted Benelli Super Vinci that i use to pheasant hunt. In pheasant hunting in the Dakota's, i shoot very well.  But when trying to shoot clays, i missed enough that it was embarrassing. About a 70%-75% sucess rate. My buddy let me use his Browning Citori CXT, and it was like night and day. I was crushing almost all the clays, about 90% success rate. I felt like i almost couldn't miss.

I'm no expert in shotgun knowledge, so can someone who is explain why there would be such a difference in hitting clays?