Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

I'm Taking a Class - What Questions Should I Ask?

Tophernj

I'm new to the competitive handgun world.  I do NOT have any aspirations to attain Master or Grand Master status.  I'm a guy that mostly competes with himself.  I'll be shooting local, informal, club level matches.  I'll be in "Open" because my eyes suck (so I have a MRDS) and I dislocated my thumb some years ago so I am running a paddle release.  At that point, I figured "what the heck" and put a comp on the gun as well.  

That said...

Proficiency adds to my fun.  So in wanting to become proficient in pistol handling I am taking a class with a local, Master level shooter.  I know what to bring as far as equipment but where I'm a little lost is in what questions to ask and what skills to work on.  I'm assuming that my instructor will guide me well, however an informed session is one that will benefit both of us and I'd like to be better informed.  So I'm on here asking what to ask.  

Thanks in advance.

I'd spend a lot of time, upfront, learning the correct stance/grip - without that, all is lost.

Don't let the instructor spend all of your time doing drills - be sure to ask him which

drills you should be doing on your own, after the class is over.  Spend some time on

drills, but not the entire class - start with few drills, record your time/scores for a

benchmark, and then ask to repeat the same drills at the end of the class, and see

how your scores have changed.

Don't let him keep telling you how well you're doing - great for the ego, but won't learn

much that way - ask him what can you do BETTER ?   And, how.

Ask him where you should spend your time to improve the fastest - you should be

getting a lot of numbers from him - how fast is your draw ?  transitions ?   etc.

You won't know how to get better if you don't know what you're doing now, and how

fast you're doing it.

You should go home with LOTS of notes.

Have fun    :)