Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New member, new reloader

3Dflyer

Just entering the  reloading aspect of this hobby to test the waters before investing. 

Wondering what is considered a bargain but typical sale price for small pistol primers.

Just discovered hazmat fees crush primer buying saving for someone into smaller scale loading. 

I wonder if gun shows typically prove to be supply source. Happy to hear your advice. 

Trying out blue bullets, range brass, using dry tumbler and sonic cleaners, and made home brew lanolin case lube, using loaner dillon 550b. 

Overwhelmed with terminology, products, materials, and processes. 

Two local gun shows locally in the next two weeks have my interest, but want to be somewhat educated as I hunt around. I am not experienced with gun shows, but Cabelas and Bass Pro seem to be $$$$ and very limited inventory in my area, especially after an hour drive each way. 

If you're buying primers/powder small scale on-line then hazmat fees can get ya.  If you're buying large scale then the hazmat fees kinda spread out and all is good....like buy your primers in a 5000 count case minimum.  Even then it usually always pays to look around on-line for a sale and/or free shipping code and/or free hazmat code because they're fairly common.  You don't have to pay full price.  Large group buys are even better at spreading around the shipping/hazmat.

4 hours ago, 3Dflyer said:

.....Wondering what is considered a bargain but typical sale price for small pistol primers......

Finding a case of Winchester SPP on-line on-sale, at MidwayUSA for instance, for around $135 to $145 is fairly common.  Just have to look for shipping/hazmat codes from there.  Some of the on-line dealers have sales more often than others.

4 hours ago, 3Dflyer said:

.....Just entering the  reloading aspect of this hobby to test the waters before investing.....