Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to tell if sear and hammer engagement surfaces are still good

Jfitz427

Hello 

so I started rebuilding my open gun that I i bought used a few months back. It was a custom built gun on a PT frame, trubor slide, so not a stock trubor. I dropped a new Brazos trigger group in it. Probably didn’t need to, but I wanted too. So I have the old hammer, sear and everything out now and I can’t tell if it’s still in good shape, or not. If it is I’d like to put it in my limited gun. It gave a pretty nice 1.5lb pull. The internals is my limited gun are mim parts, so swapping to these would be an upgrade. I’m assuming they are decent parts since they were choosen for this custom build. 

I’m pretty new to 1911/2011s, so how can I tell if the angles are still correct, and everything is still good to go? Here’s some pics, I can take more specific ones by request if that will help people. 

70186AE8-9127-4472-9D51-79A4302DA74E.jpeg

1D1A1694-B5B9-4D21-8D64-33CDF21CB902.jpeg

5BD88C14-C16E-4C79-88EC-8119453C3047.jpeg

44B9DF89-D581-4A5D-AA53-E8D86C13E05B.jpeg

BEF4D39D-FBC0-4F12-93AC-9B413899399C.jpeg

46 minutes ago, Powder Finger said:

if it were me, since you said it worked fine before replacement I would keep that stuff bagged up for a spare for that gun so you can pop it in when you need to at a match.

then work up a new set for the limited gun.

The Brazos trigger I just dropped in my open gun is super nice. Really unbelievable that it’s a drop in unit. It’s actually just under 1.5lbs, comes in at 1lb 6-7ozs. It doesn’t feel to light though. Passes all safety checks. It’s crisp as hell, much nicer reset then the old one, and the one in my limited gun. So I would like to drop in a Brazos into my limited gun. I keep thinking 150 bucks is expensive, then I remember that I paid 200-300 for my Glock triggers. 150 is actually pretty good. 

• 4 weeks later...