Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking to give 3 gun a try

dolton916

I had a offer to play on a 3 gun course locally in a practice setting, and I think I may be hooked.

I used my FNX45, a 20" .223 wylde AR, and my 28" 12ga semi. They're what I had at the range with me.

Question is after a case of 12 ga. my shoulder wants a divorce.

What is the preferred method of recoil management? Lighter loads? Mechanical? Simply heavier gun? Learn to hit the target so you don't shot as much?

I currently don't load shotgun but with my son and I doing this would it be worth the time to try and develop a load?

I understand that the guns used are not ideal but I'm hoping to not start buying dedicated guns if I can use or lightly modify what I have. what I have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm not an expert, but as long as the shotgun fits you properly, to keep recoil down run the lightest recoiling shells that will function 100% in your gun and still take out the targets. For many this is good quality 1200 fps 1-1/8 oz loads.

I've had good luck with Remington Gun Club, Remington STS and Winchester AA. My gun is well broke in and springs installed that allow me to shoot 1145 fps loads.

As for reloading shotgun shells, its just not worth it. Watch for sales and you can save some serious mt oney. I was able to buy Winchester AA from Brownells on sale at $7.99 per box with free shipping. And Winchester had a $2 a box rebate at the same time. Net $5.99 per box.

Oh and learn to hit the target so you don't shoot as much. :cheers:

A case 250 rounds of 3 dram 1 1/8 can be a bit of a rough day especially combined with the other two guns.

I wouldn't look to hard at gun issues nor skill issues quite yet.

Yes, the guys on here can shoot a 1,000 rounds a day and it doesn't phase them (yea right) , but it is something one works up too.

As was said well by others IF you have a crappy recoil pad, change it...but I would make sure the gun FIT you first.