Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lone Wolf Locking Block

bigtimelarry

I thought about trying one and ordered one since mine is fairly high mileage. Quality made part, can't say anything about the fit results though. Mine apparently was a pre mid 2002 model 22 and did not have the same locking block.

From their page:

Glock OEM parts are MIM, some problems with MIM include:

- Is oversized by 20.6%, then sintered down in a mold to final size, this creates many deviations while molding

- MIM is bound by a glue. It is heated, the glue melts and then sticks together with the metal particles

I get the MIM hate, but I'm not sure I would want to buy from someone who either lacked understanding of or misrepresented the MIM process this much.

I get the MIM hate

As a mechanical engineer, I don't. As long as it's used in the right applications it's fine. People just need something to complain about.

I thought the hate came from poor QC when the process was initially implemented by some firearm manufactures - which makes sense to me. Any process good enough for high consequence aircraft parts is good enough for guns.

From their page:

- Is oversized by 20.6%, then sintered down in a mold to final size, this creates many deviations while molding

- MIM is bound by a glue. It is heated, the glue melts and then sticks together with the metal particles

I get the MIM hate, but I'm not sure I would want to buy from someone who either lacked understanding of or misrepresented the MIM process this much.