Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help Please! Noob Here!

DJNKY49

Hey Everyone,

My son just started shooting open. We have an Open Glock build from Carver Custom. Glock 17, Gen4, Lightened Slide, 3 Port Comp, 11lb ReCoil Spring. (Set up for Minor currently...)

I need some help on how you would load your Ammo for 9mm MINOR -and- 9mm MAJOR.

He seems to have the gun running somewhat consistant... But the rounds don't seem to be ejecting as they should. (They're kind of just plopping out, and sometimes get caught between the ejection port and the SJC CMore Mount)

Any assistance would be great!

Thanks so much!

-Deven & Josh.

What bullets, oal, powder are you using? Are you chronographing your loads?

+1. Need some more info.

I'm not sure what you mean load for 9mm minor and major?

Are you trying to load for minor or major? or both? why?

Not sure you can load for both in same gun, very easily.

I'd say you are overspringed or under powered???

Cases getting stuck could also be a magazine problem?

Kwontanamo

We have the lightest recoil spring provided in the gun. It's an 11lb. You can see the rounds are barely making it out of the ejection port.

himurax13

We are using factory 115gr Aguilla 9mm Ammunition. We have yet to Chrono.

Hi-Power Jack

The gun can be set up for Minor and Major. We were provided with the hardware to run both set ups. Reasons behind this, I didn't want to throw my 12yr. old into a Race Gun with Major loads right away. I want to see how the gun reacts to Minor Loads first, and see how he feels. However, if the Minor loads still do not allow the gun to function properly, then we will make the move to Major.

Regarding your "over springed, under powered" comment... That's what a few people said at the match. Factory Loads + Compensator = Weakend Power of the Factory Loads.

Cases getting stuck are just the slide not having enough power to kick them out correctly.

I VERY MUCH APPRECIATE EVERYONES INPUT!