Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hey guys,

So I started shooting last September, did my first USPSA match in November and Tomorrow I'm heading towards my third match.

I learned that there will be a couple classifiers stages. I figure this will take me from Unclassified to D if I don't screw up. Question is, is that anything I should know about it? I mean, are there any differences between a regular and a classifier stage?

Tips are welcome.

Thanks a lot.

Classifieds have very specific ways you have to shoot them ( weak hand/strong hand) just make sure you know how your meant to do it and don't try to rush through it

Read the classifier description. If you know the classifier number before the match look it up and read it.

Understand the start-stop position, penalties and stage procedure

Understand the scoring method - comstock, virginia or fixed time - Take the time to read and understand the scoring method and penalties for each in the rule book (9.2 of the 2014 rule book). Virginia count is pretty common in classifiers. So for example, unless you know for certain you missed a target and are extremely fast do not take extra shots on virginia counts stages.

Make a plan of how you are going to shoot it and stick to it. Do not change at the last minute. If you can clearly visualize shooting the stage in your head before you step up to the line you will be about as prepared as you can be.

If you can't do any of the above...well, grip it and rip it. Sometimes that works too! :cheers:

Good Luck.

Its just a stage in the match, like any other. Read the briefing if you get there early like you would any other stage. Ask the RO questions if you are unsure of anything. But in the end, its just one stage in the whole match....