Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CZ-75 Tactical sport basepads causing rounds to nosedive ?

Gadela08

i just bought the extended basepads from CZ custom shop for a CZ-75 Tactical sport in 9mm. They extend your capacity to 23+1.

i just installed them and now the first 8 rounds or so (from a full magazine) tend to nosedive so that the front lip of the magazine will catch the brass casing.

did i install them wrong? do i need a longer spring or a different follower? is it because the basepad floor is at a different angle than the original bottom mag plate?

does anyone else have this issue and how have you solved for it?

thanks!

+1 on the Gram's spring and follower, there are a couple of more coils longer and the follower is a bit thinner and slimmer. This will help it slide in the tube a bit easier. I've been using 5 mags like that for two years in heavy competition and have had only one nose dive when I ran them hard a few matches in a row and didn't bring a tube brush.

Keep em clean, and brush the tubes out regularly and there shouldn't be any problems.

I don't have a 9mm, but I do have a 40sw so what I learned may have some relevance. With the extended basepads the factory followers may or may not work. If they get stuck in the basepad they are too wide and the edges have to be slightly chamfered so they will come up out of the basepad. Once that is done you have to worry about the top of the mags. If the follower is to narrow or has been chamfered too much, the follower will cam up on one side. By that I mean the high side of the follower will rotate up, more or less around the axis of the bullet. You can immediately see this is you look at the front side of an empty mag. When this happens the mag does not feed reliably, so you either change the follower or mess with the feed lips.