Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Should a newbie get a bullet feeder?

As a noob myself, I can say the answer for me would be no. There are so many things to be aware of that you kind of want to be slowed down by the need to place a bullet by hand. I only did some test rounds yesterday, but realy appreciated the slowness of needing to place the bullet by hand. It allowed visual inspections and forced me to not go too quickly on the handle. Also, I want to get used to the machine and how each handle pull and push should feel so that if a problem arises I know what is happening. If I added one more cog in the works, then there is just that much more to think about and watch over.

I will say that everyone claims that new reloaders should start with a single stage, but I am so very happy that I got the 650 as my first press. I do not need to worry about case insertion as it is automatic.I just glance to make sure it is seated in the shellplate. I worry about the primer feel going in, then a visual powder check insprection and then after the bullet is seated I look to see if I can see anything wrong with the case before crimping. Once I have a couple thousand rounds under my belt then I'll probably go for the powder check for accuracy and to speed up my visuals, then possibly a bullet feeder. In the grand scheme, placing a bullet takes almost no time. Putting primers in the tubes for me is the tedius part. (I think I'd rather get the Dillon primer machine over a bullet feeder now that I think about it)

I would get real used to loading on a 650 before getting a bullet feeder.

If you want a powder check you will need a GSI as it both feeds and seats the bullet. Mr. Bulletfeeder is installed between you powder drop and seating die.

Thanks guys. I guess I'll pass on the bullet feeder. I don't like loading to fast anyway. I think slower is safer for me. I'm not into running more than about 100 count rounds per session.