Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon 550b Essentials

I'm new to reloading. Actually, I'm not new yet; I haven't even started. BUT I'm planning to reload my own 9mm, and eventually 40s&w and 45acp. I've committed myself to buying a 550b. What are the essentials I'll need to start off on the right foot. I'm only asking about the essentials b/c I already know that this purchase will be way more than my original commitment to start with a Lee turret press, and I want to keep the costs down.

Thanks for your input.

MM

Go to Brian's web site and he has easy click for 550. You can customize it minimally or "as it should be". I couldn't afford the max originally, but bought incrementally.

Focus on one caliber. Get that up, then add others as you can.

Slow and steady wins this race over time. You have to factor value and quality of tools. Things of value endure.

http://www.brianenos.com/store/dillon.ez.550crbasic.html

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Edited by MikeHunter

What are the essentials

Scale, chrono, primer tubes and flipper, calipers.

Iff you're going to clean and reload your brass, you'll

need a tumbler/sorter. (You can buy cleaned, used brass, instead).

If you're good with numbers, go with the cheapest

beam balance scale you can find, and the cheapest

calipers - if you're not good with numbers, get them

both in electronic modes (digital). :cheers:

How about a couple or more good manuals? Knowledge is gold, read all you can about the process, stay safe and make good ammo.

I have several old and a few new handbooks, and refer to them regularly. I have Speer, Lyman 45 and 49th and Lyman Pistol and Revolver third edition. Lee also make a good one, you might tap Amazon, see if there are any in the used book area. Sometimes you can pick up a great buy on a used book for 1 cent plus shipping.