Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FN FAL Carbine

Dead Buff

After many searches around the 'net and chats to some 'smiths I still have no clear answers.

I am considering modifying a FN FAL to be more suitable for IPSC Rifle/3-gun matches. I am thinking of shortening the barrel and fitting an IPSC standard legal comp (26x90mm) and fitting a para folding stock. Then just some cosmetic stuff. Sounds straight forward, but I'm told the gun might not cycle due to the short barrel.

Has anyone got info on this, tried it, done, succeeded, failed, etc? What mods must be made to the gas port, etc?

Thanks for the help...

I am no expert, but I have seen several 16" FAL's and shot at least one. They work fine. The gas system can be shooter tuned fairly easily to cycle rough and throw brass a half mile or closed up to just trickle brass over the side.

Your idea is one I have found sexy for some time and have been waiting for the sunset to get a folder. The gun is a little different with a folder because if I understand things correctly the recoil system is all in the upper now.

All in all I don't see any reason it couldn't work, likw I said it's what I am planning and I've talked with my GS about it before.

Let me know how it comes out.

The gun is a little different with a folder because if I understand things correctly the recoil system is all in the upper now.

Yep. The recoil spring for the folding stock I've got sits top-side in the dustcover and hooks onto the "mouse".

..Sounds straight forward, but I'm told the gun might not cycle due to the short barrel.

Has anyone got info on this, tried it, done, succeeded, failed, etc? What mods must be made to the gas port, etc?

Thanks for the help...