Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Not throwing powder correctly?

Im new to reloading so I'm not sure if it's a lite charge or no charge but I had three almost squibs ( or how ever you say it) last night at a local match do I need to check every round every time I'm loading on a 550 and have been measuring every 10 to 15 rounds and everything is fine, but I dont look in ever round to make sure there is powder in it.

I'm loading a 230 bayou bullet with 3.8 gr of clays, I've been told to put a dryer sheet on the powder funnel and a few other things, is this s common problem with clays or the dillon or should I just get in to the habit of looking in every round as I'm loading??

Agree that it is a good practice to look in every case before you seat the bullet but you need to look into why you are not dropping powder. I don't use Clays but you should be able to consistently get +/-.1 gr drops or .2 at the most. The dryer sheet should help with static but static is not going to cause significantly lighter charges or no powder to be dropped.

Are you getting the full travel on your powder bar? Are you doing a full stroke every time you pull the handle? Have you run 10-15 charges and measured your powder drops for consistency?

What do you mean by an "almost" squib? Did the gun fail to cycle? Did it just sound diferent? Every case must be monitered for powder. With a 550 that means looking. A 650 you can use a powder check. As with all things in shooting, it is your responsiblity for all safety checks. Squibs lead to kabooms which can hurt you or people near you. You need to find out what went wrong. Check your equipment then recheck your loading technique.If you can't find the answer, tell us what you checked and maybe we can help. Good luck.

... but I dont look in ever round to make sure there is powder in it.