Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Chokes and Ammo for 3 Gun Match coming up, Need help!

Hello,

I am new to the shotgun world, and have a 3 man 3 gun match coming up in a few months, was wondering about type of Chokes and Ammo that is appropriate for the Match.

Shotgun: 930 JM 24” Tactical division, unlimited after 8+1

Chokes Needed? Is a ported Choke really beneficial?

1. Light Modified

2. Improved Cylinder

3. Full

4. ?

Please click on the Stages: http://www.yorkiwlaipsc.com/forms/York_3m3g_stages_Spr2012.pdf

Type of Targets, assuming 25-30 yards:

Stage 2: Drink Bottles

What Choke and Low recoil Ammo/brand/size/weight?

Stage 3: 18 steel, 8 clays, 1 large target (75 yards slug)

Stage 5: 10 black clays, 20 Steel Poppers

Stage 6: 28 clays, 10 steel

Stage 7: 25 steel poppers, 16 clays, Giant Star Wheel

thanks

Edited by AznDragon533

After my first match (3 down so far) I thought I needed to be changing chokes and/or swapping shot sizes for the various stages. And that would not necessarily have been wrong but, after some more work with my shotgun I found I just needed to learn where to hold. Short story; the far plate rack was giving me (and a lot of guys) fits. I took some time and shells, set a pattern board behind the plate rack, and shot at it with different holds. I learned that for my gun (Rem CM) and choke (factory IC) and shells (Federal bulk #8s from Mart-Mart) I need to hold the front bead right at the top of the plate. I mow them right down now. Also a good plan on poppers, I hold right at the top of what would be the round portion. Works on clays too although I can hold center on them and still break them. So, the answer is; pattern your gun with whatever cheap #8s or 7 1/2s you can get and learn your hold point. No way around the slug issue, you have to just shoot them and see. I am running Remington Low Recoil from Sportsmans Guide, just because that is what I could get. I have not shot them enough to say much about them yet. Good luck!