Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

sell a gun to pay for ammo?

Alright, so I think many of us are in the same boat, with the economy not doing so well, I've been getting less work this year than before. I've been shooting for about 6 years, IDPA for the first 3 (I didn't know any better :surprise: ) USPSA and 3 gun for the last 3.

I'm finally at the point where I'm seeing pretty major improvement, and I think with more training and practice I could make A in SS and maybe Limited. Plus, I have been doing well with 3 gun and really want to tear up the FNH later this year.

My dilemma is that I recently cracked open the gun fund to buy a buddy's STI spartan in 9mm that I didn't technically "need". I already have a perfect SS major 1911, and after shooting minor in SS it just doesn't make sense. The point loss isn't worth it, since I only really eliminated 2 reloads all day. Plus I reload really quickly, since I'm still young :devil: .

I bought a custom 6" 2011 all decked out this year with the plan that I would run in to Major for USPSA, minor for steel challenge, 3 gun, tactical pistol matches, etc. I would also be able to shoot SS uspsa, to itch my SS bug.

The STI is a really nice gun, and shooting minor 9 is baby soft and silly cheap, but there are only 2 matches all year that have a reason for a 10 round 9mm. I would say it's pretty good training, but I have 22 conversion kits to practice with, with are cheaper still.

I guess my problem is the fact that I don't have an "ideal" 3 gun rifle. I converted a 16" carbine gas system stag into one, but that's still not perfect.

I'm looking at an empty gun fund, knowing that a few K of 223 rounds and match fees would mean I get to enjoy my summer, but I would be out the STI. I'm pretty sure I'll eventually want it back, so the question is what do I do?

Sell a gun for ammo or just start saving money elsewhere and shut up about it?

(all things considered this is a dumb problem to have, I know)