Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting Good - How Long Did It Take

Tangram

How long did it take you to get good at competitive shooting? How many rounds? Good? Say going from just pointing downrange to shooting at master level IDPA. (Or however you would like to define good)

Rick

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

At competitive shooting? I was able to start fairly "good." I attended about 20 reasonably high-level training classes, most dealing with the handgun, before I ever shot my first "real" competition match: IDPA, actually. I'd shot little local indoor pistol league stuff before. I was able to shoot Expert in IDPA at that first match. Now, the fact I'm STILL an Expert years later is less than impressive....

Like you said, "Good" is a relative term. I just made "A" class in L-10 USPSA, and that is good by some people's definition, but it seems like eveytime I move up a step "Good" moves a step as well.

You will find that there are people here who have improoved VERY fast, and those who are slugging it out.

If you want to improove quickly my first and most improtant piece of advise would be to dry fire practice. Try for 30 minutes or more everday, but as often as you can for sure. When I can get in dry fire time at least 5 times a week, I can notice my shooting getting better.

Now, to answere you question. It has taken me 4 years to make it to "A" class. I would say the biggest things that have helped me move up are:

#1 -This web site, and the people and information on it!

#2 -Regular, and organized dry fire practice.

#3 The will to make myself a better shooter. You had better want it.

Good luck. Remember, the gun doesn't always have to go BANG for you to be practicing, CLICK sometimes works better. :ph34r: