Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

XDM 5.25 9mm Sight Options?

theycallmeingot

I've put 400 rounds through my new bitone XDM 5.25 in 9mm. i love the gun, but not so much the front sight. i'm completely new to fiber optic sights, but the front fiber optic seems a little large, and a little glaring, especially in low light. the front sight itself is also a little wider than what i prefer. i have no problems with the rear sight. what sights are you guys using? any recommendations on a narrow front sight? i don't know how narrow the stock one is, or how narrow i would like it to be... just narrower than it currently is.

any help appreciated. i'm new to shooting games, and ignorant when it comes to sights/optics.

Not sure how wide the stock one is. I know dawson, springer, and canyon creek are selling the .100 width that guys are using for competition. Might not be a bad idea to call them, tell them what you want and they will be able to help you out.

I'm fairly new to competition, but I found the stock fiber optic to be a bit too attention getting. I applied a little Super Black Touch-Up Pen paint to the shooter end of the fiber and it isn't as consuming now.

Edited by RobertAZ

Dawson, I use a .125 for IDPA and .100 for USPSA.

Why do you prefer to use the two different widths?

-1 in IDPA is a .5 second penalty and the wider sight allows for less wiggle room. In USPSA, I can have a little more slop in the sight picture and it won't hurt my scores as much.

thanks for the replies. i ordered a dawson .100x .225 sight. works like a charm. drove it in place and it was sighted exactly where the factory sight was. i find the thinner blade to be much more accurate for me, but perhaps a little slower. or, should i say... easier to go too quickly and break a shot just because i saw the glowing FO, even though the sights weren't lined up. will take better practice to break that bad habit.

• 10 months later...
  • 1 month later...

Thanks Cullen.