Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

38 Super Comp Pressure issue/question

sbgruen

Hello, I am just getting into Open gun shooting and picked up a STI 38Super with a .355 barrel and am reloading 38 SuperComp Brass out of it. I have been working up a load using 124gr MG JHP, Starline 38SC brass, Win SR Primers and SR4756 Powder. I started noticing a slight bulge in the brass at 7.3 gr of powder. I can see the very slight bulge in the brass and measured it at about .0005" Not much to measure but can definitely see it. The overall length is 1.250" and according to the reloading page by Jeff Maass it should be able to load to go to 8.4 to 9.2 gr to make 180 Power factor. Currently I am getting about 1282 fps or PF =159.

Question is, is it normal to see this in 38 Supers? Normally with unsupported barrels if I was to see a bulge I would say I am running too high a pressure.

Thanks in advance!!

Scott

What does your primer look like? That's a better indication of pressure than the case bulging, which could just be caused by a slightly oversized chamber.

Another thing, go to a lighter bullet, with an even slower burning powder. My load for 38S is 10.5 of VV N105 and a 115MG JHP, SPMP @1.235. Fantastic load. No pressure signs.

What does your primer look like? That's a better indication of pressure than the case bulging, which could just be caused by a slightly oversized chamber.

Another thing, go to a lighter bullet, with an even slower burning powder. My load for 38S is 10.5 of VV N105 and a 115MG JHP, SPMP @1.235. Fantastic load. No pressure signs.

The primer looks fine. It is not flattened at all. I am using Rifle primers. I have a bunch of the 124 and 130 gr bullets so maybe the powder change is the better first option.

Thanks

scott