Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Double taps and you...

slippp

So I've noticed while at matches, that almost everyone shoots double taps accurately.

I'm still relatively new to competitive shooting, so obviously my shot isn't that fast....

How did you develop your double tap skills? Is it honestly developed through experience and just doing it?

I tried being *a little* faster (not by much) at my second match and had a lot of alpha charlies and a few alpha deltas on targets about ~5yards out. I've been reading about the technique but I can't really incorporate it into shooting yet because I'm still working on reacquiring the sight for the second shot and what not.

Any ideas / stories? Thanks :)

BTW I searched! lol. Just thought I'd throw that in there :)

Edited by slippp

Search more. It's not "double tapping" (in most/the appropriate instances). You'll get there by turning up your vision, which is an acquired skill.

Is it just shooting fast twice?

What do you mean turning up your vision?

Search more. It's not "double tapping" (in most/the appropriate instances). You'll get there by turning up your vision, which is an acquired skill.

Is it just shooting fast twice?

What do you mean turning up your vision?

Not shooting twice...that's why your scoring deltas on a 5M target...

2 controlled shots. you see the sights on target both times. This is what the above poster was referencing by tuned up vision.....your eye's won't get better, you'll just be able to reacquire the target faster so you can take a really fast follow up shot.

Speaking for myself, it took me a good 2 years of flailing, reading, and a lot of shooting to understand roughly what I was supposed to see. More frequently, its referred to as a controlled pair around these parts...