Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm load malfunctioning

"JJ"

I am new to guns, shooting, reloading & competition shooting!

WAIT, don't leave yet!! :(

I have a mentor who took me under his wing.

He has 30+ yrs experience in firarms & reloading!

Now on to my problem.

I am loading a 115gr cast LRN 9mm bullet with 4.0 gr of 231!

In the three loading manuals he has, (both old & new) there was no data on 231 or bullseye load for 115gr.

We did an online search with no results.

With our thoughts & the suggestions of others in the reloading world, we went with the data for the 124gr LRN. This brought us to the 4.0/231 load.

We went with a 3.8 load to start with just to be safe!

We loaded 10 rds and tried them in my gun. Had 1 loading malfunction.

It ejected the cartridge but failded to put the next into the chamber.

We loaded 10 more with 4.0 & they functioned properly.

So I ran off several hundred rounds! :unsure:

I put another 100rds through the gun the next day & had around a dozen mulfunctions.

FTE, FTL & some that didn't seat fully into the chamber.

I have since come across more info that leads me to believe these are "light" loads!

Which I feel jives with the problems that I described.

BUT, I fellow shooter brought up a length issue he had with his .40 S&W.

His problems resembled mine.

These were seated to an OAL of 1.1 per reference!

I am wanting to try a 4.3/231 load at the same length!

1 adjustment at a time!! :blink:

Thanks for any comments or suggestions!!

Hi there,

Would you mind giving us more information:

Pistol Model:

Factory or Modified(what modifications):

Did you chrono your loads, if so, what speed:

Did it ever go to slide lock after last round(does it normally):

What bullets are you using:

Does factory ammo work without problems:

Was the FTE an ejection or extraction issue:

Did you drop gauge or chamber check your loads:

How does the load feel to you and your mentor: