Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI 2011 40's

Sullie

I am considering buying an STI 2011 gun, probably the Eagle. A couple of questions: I have heard that they will only feed rounds that are loaded pretty long, is this true? Also, it seems that many USPSA shooters' guns don't slide lock after the last round is fired. Is this set up this way on purpose? If so, why? Is it a function of the gun itself or the magazine?

Hello Sullie and welcome to the forum!

i'm no expert, but maybe can answer some of the questions. I run a S_I pistol built by Benny Hill. It will run on everything I feed it, factory "short" ammo or OAL 1.18, which is slightly longer. I have heard that may load long for reliability, but many more "reload" long for shootability of the ammo. Easier to get a softer shooting load that way. As far as the slide lock, this is a component of both the mag and the gun. the slide stop internal edge is ground down, and the mag followers either are made with cut outs, or are ground down as well to avoid tripping the lever. Hope that helps...

:cheers:

david

My limited guns do not lock back. If they do lock there is a problem. I have seen several that lock back with ammo still in the mag. That is my reason for locking back. I grind the slide stop down. My production and single stack guns lock back.

My guns shoot softer with long loaded ammo. They will shoot factory length ammo. I load to 1.180 for jacketd ammo and 1.210 for moly or lead.

Some guy will completely disable the slide lock in order to prevent the slide from locking back with one round left in the mag. This is known to happen with 2011's.