Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Switching between Glock and 1911

tkill12

I'm putting this here because I'm definitely a rookie and feel like this is a rookie question. If it needs moved, please do so.

I have been shooting 1911's for a couple of years now and I am just now getting to the point (mostly due to recent dry fire) that I can bring the gun up with my eyes closed and it is either on target or very close.

I recently bought a Glock 17. Not 100% what I plan to do with it yet, other than to shoot a different division in IDPA than my 1911. I have noticed that when I bring the Glock up to aim with eyes closed, it doesn't line up right for me. The front sight is always high. I'm guessing that is due to the different grip angles?

Before I start dry firing and practicing with the Glock, is this going to screw up my draw and target acquisition with my 1911? Or is it possible to learn and shoot both relatively well?

I'm putting this here because I'm definitely a rookie and feel like this is a rookie question. If it needs moved, please do so.

I have been shooting 1911's for a couple of years now and I am just now getting to the point (mostly due to recent dry fire) that I can bring the gun up with my eyes closed and it is either on target or very close.

I recently bought a Glock 17. Not 100% what I plan to do with it yet, other than to shoot a different division in IDPA than my 1911. I have noticed that when I bring the Glock up to aim with eyes closed, it doesn't line up right for me. The front sight is always high. I'm guessing that is due to the different grip angles?

Before I start dry firing and practicing with the Glock, is this going to screw up my draw and target acquisition with my 1911? Or is it possible to learn and shoot both relatively well?

Yes, it's due to the different grip angles for the most part. There's probably some influence from the different shape/profile/thickness of the frame (beavertail area), but that's not as big a deal.