Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Please Help! Legal issue!

ZombieKiller

Okay so I didnt know where else to post this so hear goes. I am legally a Florida resident but I am a full time student in Virginia. I ordered a shotgun on gunbroker and had it shipped to my FFL here in VA. According to my understanding, All i have to do is comply with both florida and virginia state laws to acquire the weapon, but upon showing my florida driver's license, all sorts of issues arose (this is not my usual FFL). I was told that I could not get the gun for the following reasons: 1) I have not had my feet on virginia soil for 90 straight days... I went home to FL for Christmas break... 2) Since i am a full time college student in VA, I am legally a VA resident and need to show VA govt issued ID.

So the questions I have are: 1) Where does it state this anywhere? the only place I can find anything about 90 days in state is for immigrants. I am def not an Immigrant. 2) where does it state that as a full time student, I am a VA resident? I am almost positive I am still a FL resident legally. There is not way I am going to have any official documents stating I am a resident here, because, I am, in fact, a florida resident. (I have a Drivers license there, I am taxed there, etc...)

Please help... I am looking for clarification and legal documentation to fight back

PS: read virginia 18.2-308.2:2 section C with Section B.5 her: http://leg1.state.va.us/000/cod/18.2-308.2C2.HTM

Edited by ZombieKiller

To answer the OP, here's the specific language from the site you referenced: