Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Another 9mm thread... New to reloading for 9mm

WhoIsJohnGalt

Gents,

I am new to reloading 9mm, but not new to reloading. Previously I have shot and loaded .45ACP for use in various 1911's almost exclusively, but I've recently picked up a couple of 9mm Smith and Wesson M&P's and I have started reloading for them on my Dillon 650. I am primarily using the M&P's for steel challenge and general range work/plinking. I've been using 125gr hard cast LRN from Dardas, OAL of 1.135" (about the shortest I can load them given the bullet shape) over 4.0gr of HP38. So far, the accuracy I am getting seems OK, but I haven't been able to determine exactly how well they are grouping because of windy conditions and a lack of an appropriate rest (I am no bullseye shooter so I know I am a source of error as well). What I have noticed is that I am not crazy about the 'feel' of these loads, for lack of a better term. They are too snappy for my liking. I have noticed though that shooting similar weight bullets in factory loads, namely Federal HST 124gr, feel much softer. I also have read much about people liking the heavier 147gr bullets in 9mm. This seems counter intuitive to me coming from shooting/loading .45 because I don't like the way the 230gr feel, and prefer the lighter/faster 185 & 200gr LSWC. What gives? Should I try increasing the charge to push these faster or would a different powder be better? I am assuming that the Federal HST are running faster than my loads are, and those feel much better to me.