Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

ok gearheads, need some opinions...

gonna buy my daughter her 1st car. looking at $10k limit and she wanted a used jetta. i can find them for under that with 50-75K miles on them. then, for the hell of it, i looked at some mercedes c240's. i found a few for around the same price with about 70-75K miles on them.

given fuel consumption ain't driving the decision, why would i buy a jetta?

gonna buy my daughter her 1st car. looking at $10k limit and she wanted a used jetta. i can find them for under that with 50-75K miles on them. then, for the hell of it, i looked at some mercedes c240's. i found a few for around the same price with about 70-75K miles on them.

I am no expert but, I did stay at a holiday inn and had an ex-roomate that was a Mercedes "technician". ;)

The Jetta is a great little car and the parts for it will be cheaper if it breaks. They have a good crash rating as well. I would recommend looking around on some of the Jetta forums and you should be able to find out all kinds of things on what to look for if buying a used one as to what can go wrong and what years and models to look for. Do remember that a lot of people are "ricer-izing" their Jettas to do the fast and furious bit and then converting them back or selling them as is so I would *really* suggest the Jetta Forums and paying to have a Jetta mechanic go over it that does not work for that car lot/person. I know a guy that has a diesel Jetta that he would not trade for anything.

On the Mercedes, man, they are great cars but repairs are steep... they may run forever, but if something goes wrong that is not under warranty ... :o Mercedes are also very well known for their crashworthyness, but the Jettas are not too far behind so...

Another thing to consider is this, Jetta's are currently an "in style" car so that may be part of her wanting one.