Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Chamber polishing...

kamikaze1a

I believe it's a given that Glock factory chambers are looser than most aftermarket barrel's chambers. It is definately the case for my LW barrel in 40. I've been getting an occassional failure to return to battery during shoots and after trying a bunch of different remedies, the only thing I can think of is that the tighter chamber is the cause. I know some will probably say, "let a pro do it" but just wondering if anyone has any tips for DIY chamber polishing? I don't intend to remove any metal, but rather smooth the transistion from ramp to chamber and smooth the chamber walls. The ramp and chamber is already pretty smooth but not really polished shiny. How polished do the pro gunsmiths go?

Can you list the other things you have tried to fix your issues. With the combined knowledge here someone might be able to suggest something you haven't tried before you start polishing your chamber. I'm not an expert, but I believe most chambers have a taper to them and a reamer is used to cut them to a finished dimension. I don't think polishing the chamber without removing any material will help much. If the chamber is tight and then you polish it then you will just have a shiny tight chamber.

Have you measured the LW barrel and compared it to the factory barrel? Have you compared the measurements to the SAMMI specs? Maybe you can call LW and get their specs. You may have a barrel that is not cut correctly from the manufacturer, but my guess is that it is an ammo issue. Does this happen with factory ammo and reloads?