Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Topping off Fuel Tank

A mechanic told me today to never top off my fuel tank in my car/truck beyond the auto shutoff because it will put raw gasoline into the vapor canister and cause major problems with the engine performance. I never heard this before. Thoughts? I have been cramming gas into my tank beyond full for 30 years.

Thanks

A mechanic told me today to never top off my fuel tank in my car/truck beyond the auto shutoff because it will put raw gasoline into the vapor canister and cause major problems with the engine performance. I never heard this before. Thoughts? I have been cramming gas into my tank beyond full for 30 years.

Thanks

I heard this a few years ago too. Don't know if it's true or not but now I don't fill it all the way. Just let it stop on it's own and add a little to even the charges.

Gary

If I top off my Toyota 4-Runner, it will cause the check engine light to come on. Never knew why, maybe it is true.
Could be. He said the fuel will fill up the vapor recovery line to the charcoal canister or something like that. Maybe it IS true.

on some cars youwill get a check engine light if you dont tighten the gas cap good. I have seen it happen on several GM cars and my brothers truck the other day. He came in complaining his 2 yr old truck was already having problems and he told me engine light was on, I told him to check his cap and 30 minutes later it went off. I think the gas system get pressurized and then it looks for so much pressure in the tank and when it doesnt see it then it triggers the check engine.

I never top off.

Back in the day I think I used to do it to "round" the number to something that was coin resistant.

Nowadays I primarily pay with a card. I could care less about what the amount is. Having heard that toping off is bad in the past (can't recall where) it all just came together.

No top off for me!

J

'tis true. dont do it.

ALSO dont refill while running.