Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Traveling with high cap mags to CA

I'm going to be shooting the Lim Nationals in Vegas and have convinced my wife that we should do a family vacation on Coronado Island in San Diego (we used to live there). I am trying to understand the logistics of traveling into CA with my STI and 12 140mm mags, with the intention of driving to Las Vegas to shoot the Nationals.

I'm pretty sure that I can bring the gun, but the mags seem to be a problem... however, I was a california resident Pre-Ban (with mags ;-) ).

Can I bring the gun to CA with high caps only to cross state lines?

Can I bring the mags to CA at all?

Can I cross state lines with the gun?

Is there a better way?

Any RELIABLE gun dealers in Vegas I can send it all to FFL to FFL?

I'm no lawyer so research what I write before starting your trip.

I recall reading somewhere if you were an ex resident and owned hi caps before the ban, and were moving back into the state, you can bring them with you. Don't quote me on this one. In your case you're not coming back to be a resident so I guess it the above won't apply to you.

Its possible to bring your magazines in pieces and call them a "parts rebuild kit". Its not considered a magazine but a bunch of parts.

Again, I'm no lawyer so research what I write before starting your trip.

Also you can check the CAL DOJ website for info or you can call them.

If you have time on your hands you can wander over to calguns.net and do search using "travel" as one of your keep words.

Sorry I'm not much help but hopefully I pointed you in the right direction.

Edited by yoshidaex

I'm going to be shooting the Lim Nationals in Vegas and have convinced my wife that we should do a family vacation on Coronado Island in San Diego (we used to live there). I am trying to understand the logistics of traveling into CA with my STI and 12 140mm mags, with the intention of driving to Las Vegas to shoot the Nationals.