Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

bullet feeders?

I have two KISS Bulletfeeders, one I run on pistol calibers (40 & 9) and I have only had 1 or 2 upside down bullets in 10k rounds, and I have about 2k trouble free rounds on the KISS in 223.

I would honestly rank them in the most reliable, best value items I have purchased since I started shooting.

molly coated lead works fine, jacketed/plated work excellent, the manufacturer suggests no cast lead due to the lube gumming it up. I suppose you could clean it very frequently to keep the lube build up down but then you lose some of the advantage.

I’ve built a few collators for bullet feeders and inverted bullets are more common on “square” bullets. If the height is close to the diameter (45acp) an inverted bullet is more likely. If the difference is large (like most rifle bullets) you’ll likely never see an inverted bullet.

Just like your press, bullet collators work best if mounted solid.

On the first bullet feeder I built (45 ACP) every few thousand I would get an inverted bullet, so I built the device below. The bullet drops from the collator onto the wheel and ran by a limit switch if the ogive is up it does not trigger the switch and continues around until dropping into the bullet feeder. If the larger base of the bullet is up, the switch is triggered; activating the solenoid controlled trap door, culling the inverted bullet. Zero inverted bullets for life.

feeder2.jpg

Edited by jmorris

After a pm from the op, asking for photos and the KISS answer to his question.

I see no way for it to determine the correct orientation.