Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do you maintain confidence?

Merlin Orr

Three times a month I shoot IDPA or ICORE at our home club. I usually shoot with an illegal gun (6" Benny Built) so mine, and others with "illegal" guns are scored but in a separate category and not really part of the match. I nearly always do very well and finish close to are at the top of the outlaw crowd - usually about 20-25% ahead of the "real" shooters. We are scored the same way with the same points deductions and etc.

When I shoot a legal match as I did today I invariably crash and burn..shooting slower with crap for accuracy.

IDPA just kicks my ass. I have zero confidence when I try to shoot those damned round -0 spots on the target for a real score. I know it's mental....

2 questions.

1. Why?

2. How do I fix it.

When I was a football and wrestling coach there was a quote that I used for team and individuals when trying to build confidence. It went something like this.

"When in pressure situations winners recall past success and losers recall past failure both are self-fulfilling." I do not remember where I found it or who said it, but I think it is true.

You seem to think that the gun being illegal or legal is not a factor. It certainly does not have to be. But I get the impression that you resent the illegalness of the gun and the rule or rules that make it so. Seems to me that you have built in motivation for going into a match with the legal gun and demonstrating to the "real" shooters that you can do just as well with a legal gun. Go do it. Your focus needs to be on mechanics not the results. The results should take care of themselves.

Just my thoughts. Take it for what it is worth.

Perhaps that fine 6" is a crutch... maybe a little too easy to shoot?

I have the opposite problem. The IDPA zero ring fits my lateral wobble zone perfectly. When I shoot USPSA I end up with a lot of Charlies that would be zeros in IDPA.