Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reviving dead batteries with a welder?

Ok - I am a building contractor and go thru cordless drill batteries every couple of years.

Right now I have like 6 sets of cordless drills with dead batteries - Porter Cable 8620, 8720,P, 8723, and a few older sets of Makita drills and saws.

New replacement batteries are expensive - like $55-$70 ea.

I did a search and see that one can revive NiCd batteries with a welder.

Has anyone here done this?

I'd like to try this - but don't want the battery to blow up.

Thoughts?

Thanks.

Paul

Here's a link

http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/2006/12/how_to_revive_d.html

http://www.instructables.com/id/Revive-Nic...-with-a-Welder/

Please take a video like the guy shown for posting later....I want to see how far you jump on that first spark :devil:

Basicly he's using the welder as a quick charger, the proof will be if the batts last as long (or close to as long)

as you'd like.

It is a neat site though.

Well I was too chicken to use the welder - so tried it with a car battery charger in the engine starter position.

Sa far it looks good - I did zap as per the blog to four of the 14.4 Porter Cable batteries.

Prior to this test two of the batteries would not hold any charge and showed just a couple volts.

The other two batteries indicated "weak battery" on the charger and both were around 5-6volts.

After zapping all four showed about 16volts. I inserted two batteries into two of the chargers - both showed a solid green light which indicates "fast charging" which is good.

I'll let these charge overnight and see if they work.

We used to charge our old crane with a linc 200 amp. but you had to turn it wayyyy down else the water would boil. BE VERY CAREFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

It can be like using ether to set a tire bead... good stuff if you know what you are doing... not so good if you dont.

Edited by Ed Deegan