Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Buying A new Gun

Teejo

Ok guys,

First things first, I'm very new to this although I have been shooting casually for 10 years. I'm very interested in starting to compete but haven't worked up the gumption to enter my first event. I know I'll be horrible. My question is this. I currently own a Springfield loaded, GP-100 and a ruger MK III. I was going to try my hand at bullsye (Still might) but I really want to pick up one more pistol and want to be able to compete with it (They're like Lays potato chips). I'm looking to go either go

GLOCK, XD, or M&P. While I was originally going to go with 9mm, after reading it seems like I may want to go .40 so I can get the power factor. My questions are:

1-Should I attempt to try my hand at both 1911 and plasti-gun or will I just struggle by not learning good technique with one gun

2- Am I right in Going .40 vs 9mm (I am planning to reload)

3- how can I get good practice in so I'm not embarrrassed to shoot my first match. (I do have an indoor range membership)

Any other advice will be greatly appreciated.

Terry in Ohio

Edited by Teejo

If you're looking at the plastic guns and are going to shoot in production, I would go with 9mm for a couple reasons

-cheaper - even when reloading

-you'll still make minor power factor

-generally less recoil

If you like your Springfield Loaded (assuming 45acp) shoot it in Single Stack or L-10. I only ran my Springfield in L-10 for the first couple years of shooting USPSA on and off. Then I shot a few matches in Production with my XD-9 Tactical (mostly stock except put Dawson sights). Now I'm playing Limited with a EAA Limited.

You can take the advise that I always give that I don't follow myself: spend money on training and ammo in the begining, not more guns and more widgetry. Becoming a better shooter and getting used to the matches is where you'll have value down the road.

Good luck!

Mitch