Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New? and conflicted

Forester

I think this post is my second on this forum, the first being something over in gear and accessories about a chronograph, so go easy on a new guy. I have been lurking here for ages, feeling mostly like with the talent and expertise here I did not have much to add. I have done the homework, read Mr. Enos's book, following Kirsch's dryfire drills and in all honesty doing as much thinking about my shooting as the 10 or 12 hours a week (plus matches) that I do practicing. Now I have a question I can't quite seem to get worked out.

I have been shooting in some shape or form since I could walk, but only competitively for about 2 and a half years. I started shooting IDPA because I could shoot equipment I already owned. Late last year I gave USPSA a try because I was mad at some of the nonsensical rules in IDPA. I shot 4 matches last year in single stack and wound up low C class when single stack was made an official division. I found out that although game planning for a stage and reloads are two things I enjoy and tend to be good at, the constant reloads in SS made a lot of stages annoying.

This year I switched to a CR speed holster and 10rd mags and I am having a load of fun in L-10. I attached a pic or two of the gun I am shooting which started life as a Les Baer but after ~50,000rds I had rebuilt and setup to my liking. The gun is still CDP legal for IDPA (though the "gamer" comments never cease :cheers: ) and has, with more than a few hours of live and dry fire allowed me to make a high B level percentage this year. My match standings in local matches seem to fit well with my classifiers so far. I shoot mostly in Virginia and North Carolina. My major match shedule for the year is, SC sectional, VA-MD sectional, NC Sectional, Carolina Cup(IDPA)., possibly Summer Blast. Also VA and NC state IDPA. That goes along with a couple or 3 local matches a month (Sir Walter, Rowan County, Roanoke, Statesville)