Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New open gun, maybe a Bedell

jostein jensen

Being a Norway resident, I have somewhat limited choices for guns.

They consist of stock Sti's, Svi's and importing myself. For price comparison, a Trubor costs the equivalent of 4700 USD, an Svi open 6700 USD.

Importing a gun from the US costs an extra 500-550 USD for paperwork and shipping, plus 25% tax on the whole price. So a Bedell ends up around the same as a Trubor.

Problem with importing is if something goes wrong with it. Its very difficult, not to say impossible to get a gun back to the US for fixup.

How many of you guys with custom guns had any issues with it, that wasn't due to magazines and normal wear, but production error? I know everyone says get a gun from a smith, and never worry, but is it really like that?

What other builders would you suggest in the same price range as bedell, or are there none?

JJ.

JJ,

I have had excellent service from my bedell. It is a shorty in 9mm and so far I have approximately 35 thousand rounds without any problems at all. I have complete confidence that if I feed it quality ammo, it will run at the extreme end of reliability.

As far as a builder, my experience with Dan and Chuck was exceptional as well. They both went to great lengths to help me learn the options and then choose the options that would be most beneficial to me.

I do know there are other smith's who have great reputations however my experience with Dan and Chuck is my only custom gun experience.

Good luck, Craig

JJ,

I have had excellent service from my bedell. It is a shorty in 9mm and so far I have approximately 35 thousand rounds without any problems at all. I have complete confidence that if I feed it quality ammo, it will run at the extreme end of reliability.