Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Poll -- Shooter's Profile

boo radley

The question Nemo posed about being a "Hobbyist" or "Sportsman" intrigued me, because I think it's not a category so much as a sliding scale, or spectrum.

I started thinking about this, and would like to extend the poll a bit with 3 questions (max allowed). I'd be very interested to see if everyone ends up with a combined score of "9", or if the average will be higher or lower....

I started shooting competitivly in 1993 after my first match which was a 27th place finish, I have never been out of the top 10 since, now this only applies to 3-gun, but the two big pistol matches that I shot I was in the top 10 in my division LIMITED, but I know that if I went to a big area shoot or the Nationals I would be WAY down there with a pistol so I guess it is a sliding scale. I consider myself....driven!!! KURTM

I am usually loading ammo the morning of the match, driving 85mph to get there on time, and shooting a filthy gun. I did dry fire regularly last spring for about three months and picked up about 10%, but I haven't put any effort in to it since then and I haven't gained much since then. Right now I am at the top of what I can do with no effort to improve. If I want to get any better I need to practice both dry and live, and I know it. I don't have time to practice, so it is a matter of making time to practice or accepting that where I am is where I will be. I haven't made that decision yet. Something will have to take a back seat if I practice.......

Mediocrity - I think it's safe to say 85% (if not more) of the population is complacent right where they are at (in all aspects of life, not just shooting).

Of course we all think we are better than we really are.

Of course we all want to believe we are on the road to improvement.

Of course we all just except where we finish in the results because you know those at the top probably just worked a little bit harder than you were willing to.