Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Do the need sti 9mm mags still need spacers

timamal

I removed them and when loading long (29,35mm) I have no problems and these rounds also fit my Glocks, so I'm happy without spacers ;-)

If my math is correct, you load to an OAL of 1.156". That's shorter than what I expected for good functioning in an STI magazines. Did you do any tuning to get this to work?

Bill

As for my setup, I am loading my bullets to 1.170 - 1.175 OAL using tuned brazos STI mags with 38 super followers and springs (grams kit) with no problems at all. I have been using this setup for four months now on two major matches and 8 local matches and has been flawless. Prior to this setup, I was using spacers and 9x19 followers and have had jams occasionally due to longer OAL. By the way, HS6 powder maybe a little bit dirty but used it the last two major matches with more than 300 rounds each match and no jams. I don't have to clean the chamber. Hope this helps.DVC

STI mags should have spacers unless the tubes have been re-shaped for use without spacers.

First I've heard of anyone reshaping tubes to eliminate spacers. Does this tube shaping eliminate the need for spacers irregardless of OAL; or more beneficial to those loading to longer OALs? Or, are you referring to just reshaping the feed lips?

Edited by cpty1

If my math is correct, you load to an OAL of 1.156". That's shorter than what I expected for good functioning in an STI magazines. Did you do any tuning to get this to work?

Bill

I had some problems, but when I adjusted the feedlips (they were very W I D E) it all worked and the bullets are now nicely guided by the feedlips and I've shot around 5000 rounds without any problems.

I used to use STI tubes with 9mm followers and spacers and had no issues. But now I am using SVI tubes

with 38 super followers and no spacers and still not having problems. The simpler you can make things