Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clays Not Making Major

chunger

:angry:

My barrel is a bit slow, and my clays test loads are not making power factor.. . I'm wondering what to do.

Kart 5" barrel

Zero 230 grain JHP

OAL 1.2275"

Crimp 1.471"

Winchester large pistol primer

4.0 Grains Clays = 697.2 fps 160.35 PF

3.9 Grains Clays = 685.8 fps 157.73 PF

3.8 Grains Clays = 663.8 fps 152.67 PF

4 grains of clays is what all the manuals say is max load. I'm not seeing signs of excessive pressure, but I'm new to this reloading thing. I know going beyond recommended maximum load is at your own risk. . . should I abandon the Clays for this gun? Or should I try to bump it to 4.1 grains?

I was able to work up to 781 fps w/ 4.8 grains of titegroup. Haven't shot for groups yet with any of the loads. Just testing to see which ones are viable.

Edited by chunger

First of all have you tried another chrono? 4.0 gr easily makes Major in my Kimber. I get 728-734 fps. I do use a 230 gr RN plated bullet at 1.260". Are you getting any pressure signs? I use 4.2 gr with a 200 gr LSWC to make Major.

I was able to make major with 4.2 gr of Titegroup and the same 230 bullet.

Hi Joe D,

I'm suspecting slow barrel. . . it's Kevin C's chrono. . . he's not reported discrepencies with his loads on this chrono. My 9mm Springfield also chronoed almost right at theoretical with this machine. I'm consistantly getting 35-37 fps slower than theoretical on this particular new Kart barrel w/ clays and titegroup.

My starting load at 4.5 grains of titegroup under a 230 grain Zero JHP through my barrel yielded.

724 .3 FPS 166.6 PF

I did not load under 4.5 grains as my manual said 4.4 grains is the minimum charge.

Edited by chunger

Chunger,