Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SV Magazine Springs

BigDave

Dave,

Currently I use ISMI springs (recoil, mainspring, magazine) and have very happy. I shoot approx 12,000 rounds a year and change mag springs and recoil springs once a year in May. I've had the same mainspring for several years. I've had great results w/ them. I'm sure the Wolff is stuff is great too or they wouldn't have been around for as long as they have.

Kevin

I second Kevin on this.

I have been using ISMI springs for at leat 2 years with great results.  ESPECIALLY 170mm open mags.  I use their mags springs, recoil springs, main springs, and even their magazine release spring.  The only spring I totally trust, and I have tried many.

At risk, and at the place of our Woman of knowledge and power, I'd say yes. Beven does have his springs made by Wolfe to his specks, and they are a tad heavier wire diameter than the rest. (.002," I think) The only problem I've seen with the ISMI springs in the past, is that over millions of rounds of testing, they'd occasionally nose dive or bump feed a round, especially in the .40, because of all those super-heavy 40 bullets crammed in there. I've never heard that complaint in the supers. I've used bevens, or wolfe springs for ever with no problems whatsoever. This is especially true with SVI's new followers, after they've been tuned using my super-trick bending technique disclosed elsewhere on this very forum. I can' t remember exactly where it is right now, anyone? But I do know where it should be... :)

(I want the wire diameter to be .052 on a .40 spring.)

be

I've told y'all about a gazillion times, I'm NOT technical :-)

But I believe, as Brian does, that he does have them made by someone.  I KNOW they are a "heavier" diameter than what Wolff sells to the public.  

But MOST importantly, I KNOW they work!  I went through "mag hell" for a year, finally sent them to Grams and I haven't had problems since.

Hello everyone.