Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Noob In Oregon

JTR

Hey gang.

I’ve made a few posts in the revolver forum and they seem like a wonderful bunch, but I haven’t told them I like to shoot Glocks, SIGs and 1911s too.

I’ve been shooting Speed Steel at some of the local ranges for a couple years now (use my revolvers mostly), but my only experience with IPSC/USPSA has been a couple benefit matches I’ve been to. Which, as I understand it, are kinda watered down for the non-competitive shooter... and the steel shooters.

As winter comes on and things slow down a bit I’d like to take the safety course and check into a real USPSA match. I am a tad concerned about this whole power factor thing though. As I understand it, my 9mm Glock 34 in limited can only be considered minor power factor. Should this keep me up at night, or am I good to go?

Thanks, Chris

JTR,

Hi, a fellow oregonion here. Oregon is a great state to live and shoot in! The shooting crowd, especially the USPSA bunch, are the best bunch of guys and gals.

Where are located?

Your 34 is good to go for limited but you will shoot minor (less points for hits outside the A zone) 34's are more commonly seen in production class. Everyone shoots minor in production, no matter the caliber. A 34 is what I shoot in production.

I would heartily recommend you check it out. Most local clubs would bend over backward to get you shooting. It's a blast.

I'm a USPSA range officer. Feel free to email me if there's anything I can do to help. I can also help you get in touch with a local club.

Edited by Trey

As I understand it, my 9mm Glock 34 in limited can only be considered minor power factor. Should this keep me up at night, or am I good to go?

Thanks, Chris