Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Economical Ammo For My Glock 35

RangerE32

I went to a gun show yesterday and buckled under the pressure of seeing a barely-used Glock 35 at a good price. So I ended up blowing my tax return before I even got it back :wacko:

I am new to competitive shooting and intend to use this gun for IPSC Limited class. I already use my Sig P226 9mm for Production. However, I do not reload yet and need to find a source of ammo that won't break the bank. I saw some deals on ammo at the show and was wondering what you guys know about the following 2 brands:

1) Miwall- $99.95/ 1000rds 180 gr TMJ- My understanding is that this stuff 'barely' makes major, and you can't count on it to do so if you show up at a match that is checking for this.

2)HSM- $106/ 1000rds 180 gr FMJ, labelled "Police Ammunition". These guys are outta Stevensville, MT and package their ammo in a bright orange box. My understanding is that the police in my area use it as practice ammo.

I am primarily going to use the ammo as practice ammo, but would hope these would also make Major? I am a newbie and only participate in local matches, so it probably wouldn't be too critical at this point. Any problems with reliability for these brands? Is there a better place on this forum to post ammo questions? Just want to make an informed decision before I drop more cash on a case or two. Thanks.

At those prices, if they make major and are accurate enough, go for it. You can't reload for that cheap (especially if you include time). With the availability of bulk .40 ammo now from a bunch of sources, if you're shooting a Glock, it's almost not worthwhile to reload 9mm or .40.

Just my opinion though.

SPC (P) Richard A. White, Senior Medic

249th MP Detachment (EACF)

Camp Humphreys, ROK

Not sure I agree with some of those statements. I figure it costs me less than $70 to reload .40. Reloaders never figure their time into the cost.