Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My First Time In Uspsa On Sunday

rvb

Hey guys....

so here's the deal. I've been shooting IDPA for a few years. Even squeaked into Master a few months ago. I want some fresh perspective, some different [and bigger?] challenges, new goals, and most importantly.... fun trigger time.

I'm shooting a classifier match on Sunday (in York, PA). This will be my first USPSA match. I was told I can join USPSA at the match (and fully intend to).

I was reading through the pdf rulebook I downloaded and looking for things that may be different or new over what I'm used to ... things to keep me out of trouble and from looking like a goof. . . I'm not worried about the 180 rule, safe tables, etc., I think I have a handle on that. Any thing drastically different from IDPA that could get me in trouble safety wise or cause me to rack up unneccessary penalties?

I'll be shooting my IDPA (SSP) gear.

Any tips, pointers, thoughts, etc? I'm not going with a goal of smokin the clock. Wouldn't mind making A-class, but not going to push for master times or anything. If I join uspsa at the match, do you think I'll still get classified? How efficiant is the governing body on those types of situations?

I absolutely can't wait. I've been saying for a year or more I want to get started shooting with you all.

Oh, and I've downloaded the pdfs of the classifier stages and sorta been studying them so I can feel comfortable and somewhat familiar and relaxed on them.

Thanks!!

Ryan

:D

Your official classification will probably take a few weeks for the scores to be turned in and processed. In the mean time you can get a good estimate by compairing your percentages to whats posted on USPSA's website. You will need 4 classifiers for an inital classificaiton card. That match should give you what you need for an inital though.

Add 2 or 3 more magazines and pouches to your IDPA gear set up.

Watch out for fault lines...

Have fun!

Hey guys....